Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Victims of Storms in Six States have Until August 29 to File Certain Returns

According to the latest IRS news release, they are postponing the deadline to file certain tax returns, to make certain tax payments and to perform time-sensitive acts for storm, flood, and tornado victims in presidential disaster areas in six states, until August 29.

“Previously, these deadlines varied by state, and the postponement provides people affected by the disasters with additional time.

‘Our hearts go out to the people hit by these disasters,’ IRS Commissioner Doug Shulman said. ‘We realize that as people put their lives back together, they need additional time to work on these tax issues.’

This announcement will affect counties in Indiana, Iowa, Illinois, Nebraska, West Virginia and Wisconsin that qualify for individual assistance. Affected counties in Missouri previously have been granted relief until Aug. 29.”

Blog Archive